We value your privacy, and intentionally collect only the minimum amount of information we need in order to provide services to you. Except as noted below, we don't share your information with anyone, unless we have your explicit permission to do so.

Missionaries in Sensitive Locations

Provided you can securely access our web site and your email, you can safely use our services, with the following two exceptions:

  1. Do not set up notifications by text message to your cell phone. These messages are never encrypted, and are often monitored by third parties.

  2. Do not enable your public web site. This is an obvious precaution, and you don't need to worry about accidentally turning this feature on.

Always access our site from a trusted computer. If your only option is an Internet cafe, do not visit our web site – many of these computers track your activity. Although all of our web site traffic is encrypted, your Internet service provider will still see that you're connecting to "prayerletters.com", which was never intended to be a subtle domain name.

We recommend that you have a trusted friend at home who can interact with us on your behalf during times when you don't have secure Internet access. It's best to set this up in advance and let us know that this person is able to communicate with us on your behalf.

Information We Share

As a rule, we only share information when necessary to fulfill your orders. For example:

  • We share order information with one of our credit card providers when you pay by credit card.

  • We share order information with your ministry's accounts payable person or department when you make use of a billing arrangement with your ministry.

  • Emails that you send to us or that we send to you are stored and processed by our email providers and our help desk service.

  • When you have an online chat with us, the details of your chat are shared with our chat service provider.

In all of these cases, we pay for the services that we're receiving and ensure that the company we use has a business model that does not include sharing your information with other parties.

We do not use any third-party providers of web site analytics or behavior tracking services, either free or paid. For troubleshooting purposes, we keep web site traffic logs on servers under our control, and our team members are able to view your logged-in activity in order to assist you with our services.

We may also share information in the following two cases:

  1. When we have a booth at an event hosted by your ministry, we often create a binder of prayer letters we like that can be perused by other missionaries in your ministry for ideas on how to improve their own letters.

    These binders are never left unattended, and we carefully review each letter we include to ensure that it highlights best practices for prayer letters and doesn't include any sensitive personal information about yourself or the people to whom your ministering.

    If you don't want your letters to be used in this way, simply let us know. Also, if we know that you're serving in a sensitive location, we won't include your letters even in this safe situation, as an added precaution for your ministry.

  2. If we don't receive payment in a timely manner for your order, we may contact people on your mailing list in order to either get in touch with you or ask them to pay the invoice on your behalf.

    In such a case, which will only be used after several attempts to contact you have either failed or gone unanswered, we will generally attempt to contact family members or churches before others on your mailing list, and we will be sensitive in how we do so.

    We won't pursue this option if we know that you were dissatisfied with your order for any reason. In that case, we will be doing everything we can to make it right, including refunding your order, if needed.

Finally, we may share information about your account with someone to whom you've given us explicit permission, or when required by law.

Closing Your Account

If you no longer wish to use our services, you may ask us to close your account. When you do so, you'll no longer be able to log in or access any details or files that you've sent to us.

We're taking steps to minimize the order-related information that we retain for closed accounts. As we make improvements in this area, we'll automatically delete information that we no longer need, after a period of time, with no further action required on your part.